The Haunting part 1

12 Feb

As you’ll remember, this guy came and went in the summer (ew, that sounds grosser than I meant it to). And I’m not going to lie, it took me a bit too long to get over it. I was hurt, disappointed, and felt ugly for months. During that time I wanted to bump into him to show him what he was missing and then (as I went downhill) I was terrified of seeing him when I was unprepared (read: wearing Kraft dinner-stained sweatpants).

Then slowly I stopped thinking about him, until he turned into a warm-ish summer memory. It got cold, and I met someone who made my heart skip a beat.

Thinking it was over and that the credits were rolling, I forgot I live in the smallest damn big city on the planet and where this used to affect my dating prospects, it’s now like living in a city haunted by past lovers.

Most of the time they float around the city invisible to the average person when suddenly I turn a corner and boo! Surprise! There they are, an apparition from my past I thought had died months ago.

I’m not going to lie, at times like these I run. And I’ve been known to drag friends, co-workers and even boyfriends with me until we’re safely in another neighbourhood entirely.

Am I the only one who does this?

Leave a comment